The General Car Insurance Review
The General is Sentry's direct-to-consumer non-standard specialist, acquired from American Family on December 31, 2024 and upgraded by AM Best from A (Excellent) to A+ (Superior) on February 20, 2025 following Sentry integration. Three facts shape a 2026 decision: (1) ownership change plus financial-strength upgrade are the single most important delta from any pre-2025 review; (2) direct-to-consumer online quote and bind in 2 minutes, with SR-22 delivered in minutes — the operational feature set is purpose-built for time-pressured reinstatement; (3) The General and Dairyland are now one Sentry non-standard franchise with two distribution models (DTC and IA); a direct shopper quotes The General, an agent-channel shopper quotes Dairyland. Pricing anchors and specific DUI/lapse underwriting floors are not publicly disclosed; verify in the quote flow.
YesWeSure Bottom Line
The General is a direct-to-consumer non-standard specialist with the operational hallmark of "Yes when others say No." The 2024-2025 story is ownership change plus AM Best upgrade: sold by American Family to Sentry on December 31, 2024, upgraded by AM Best to A+ (Superior) on February 20, 2025. Sibling to Dairyland under Sentry.
Strong at
Post-Sentry A+ Superior AM Best plus 2-minute online quote
February 20, 2025 AM Best upgrade from A/a+ to A+ (Superior)/aa- across PGAC, PGAC of Ohio, and General Automobile Insurance Company — unusual at the direct-non-standard tier. 2-minute online quote and bind at thegeneral.com. SR-22 delivered with policy documents in minutes. Broad eligibility (DUI, lapse, no prior coverage, young/elderly drivers, reinstatement).
Watch for
No telematics; underwriting floors not publicly disclosed
The General does not offer a telematics / UBI program (shared with sibling Dairyland). Multiple-DUI thresholds, lapse-grace lengths, and credit-based rating usage are not publicly disclosed and vary by state. PGAC 2024 NAIC complaint index was reported at ~5.09 per third-party aggregation (3 complaints; low-count statistical noise); pull current per-entity values before signing.
Worth comparing if
DTC-preferring non-standard shoppers
Worth quoting if you prefer direct-to-consumer online purchase (no agent), need SR-22 same-day delivery, and want Sentry parent counterparty strength. For agent-channel non-standard shopping, quote Dairyland (same owner) in parallel.
Quote-dependent
Your state, your SR-22 timeline, and the parallel Dairyland quote
Which of the 47 states writes you (not AK, HI, MI per secondary); whether SR-22 is available in your state through The General; what your specific profile prices at relative to a parallel Dairyland quote through an agent; and whether the "double-deductible first 45 days" option is available in your state.
At a glance
Parent
Sentry Insurance Group (as of December 31, 2024); previously American Family 2012-2024
Availability
47 states; secondary sources exclude Alaska, Hawaii, Michigan. DC inclusion unverified
Distribution
Direct-to-consumer only (online quote + mobile app)
AM Best FSR
A+ (Superior); aa- ICR; UPGRADED from A/a+ on February 20, 2025 post-Sentry integration; Stable outlook2
Non-standard positioning
PURE non-standard direct-to-consumer specialist. Tagline: "The General Says 'Yes' When Others Say 'No'"6
SR-22
Filed "in most states"; delivered with policy documents "in just minutes" after online purchase5
FR-44
Florida and Virginia only; confirm at quote flow5
Sibling under Sentry
Dairyland (independent-agent non-standard; Sentry acquired Dairyland 1966)3
Material 2024-2025 events
December 31, 2024 Sentry acquisition closed; February 20, 2025 AM Best upgrade to A+ (Superior)2
Strengths & considerations
Strengths
- Post-Sentry AM Best upgrade to A+ (Superior). February 20, 2025 AM Best upgrade from A (Excellent) / a+ to A+ (Superior) / aa- across all three The General entities. For a non-standard direct-to-consumer specialist, A+ Superior is unusually strong — matched only by Sentry sibling Dairyland in the non-standard tier. The upgrade is a direct consequence of Sentry acquisition and inter-company quota-share.2
- Direct-to-consumer online quote in 2 minutes. The General markets a 2-minute online quote and bind, with mobile app on iOS and Android. For a non-standard shopper who prefers to skip the agent conversation, this is a structurally different experience from Dairyland (same owner, independent-agent channel).4
- "Yes when others say No" marketing is backed by broad eligibility. The General's high-risk page explicitly serves drivers with DUI/DWI history, lapsed or no prior coverage, drivers age 70+ or 20 or younger, and drivers with license-suspension / SR-22 reinstatement history. The eligibility net is broad and operationally fast.6
- SR-22 filed in most states, delivered in minutes. SR-22 form is delivered with the policy documents after online purchase 'in just minutes.' For a reinstatement shopper on a time-pressured timeline, this matters more than the base rate.5
Considerations
- No telematics / UBI program. The General does not operate a telematics discount program. Non-standard shoppers who want a telematics discount to earn rate forgiveness over time should look elsewhere. Shared feature with Sentry sibling Dairyland.4
- Modeled rates and complaint-index values are secondary-sourced. Primary-source modeled rates are not published by The General. Third-party aggregations cite PGAC 2024 NAIC complaint index of ~5.09 (3 complaints) and PGAC of Ohio ~1.55 — but low complaint counts drive statistical noise. Pull current values from NAIC CIS before signing.9
- 47 states only; AK, HI, MI excluded. The General writes in 47 states per the carrier's own About page. Secondary sources name Alaska, Hawaii, and Michigan as non-writing. DC inclusion in the 47-state figure is not primary-source clear.4
- Multiple-DUI and credit-based rating specifics are UNVERIFIED. The General accepts DUI as a core eligibility class but does not publicly disclose multiple-DUI thresholds, lapse-grace lengths, or credit-based rating usage. Specific underwriting rules vary by state. Confirm specifics during the online quote flow.6
Coverage options
The General writes standard personal auto coverages plus carrier-specific products listed below. State availability and endorsement limits vary; confirm at quote time.
- Bodily injury and property damage liability5
- Collision5
- Comprehensive5
- Uninsured and underinsured motorist5
- Personal injury protection: Where state requires.5
- Medical payments5
- Gap insurance6
- Roadside assistance6
- Rental reimbursement6
Discounts
- Multi-car: More than one vehicle on policy.7
- Good Student: B average or better plus eligibility.7
- Passive restraint: Factory-installed passive-restraint devices (airbags, automatic seat belts).7
- Defensive driver: Approved defensive-driving course completion.7
- Pay-in-full: Full policy premium up front.7
- Safe driver (3-5 years clean): Three to five years clean driving record.7
- Homeowner: Qualifying home ownership.7
- Double-deductible (select states, first 45 days): Double-deductible option available in some states for the first 45 days.7
- Previous insurance / switch: Prior-insurance switch credit.7
Pricing
Every The General quote is personal. What follows are modeled premiums for defined driver profiles from reputable publisher analyses — not personalized quotes. Use them to calibrate what to expect, not to replace a real quote in your state.
Editorial note (publisher-modeled rates pending primary verification) (October 2026): Publisher-modeled rates for The General 2025-2026 were not retrievable from a primary source in the research pass. The General markets heavily on minimum-coverage affordability ("Why pay a lot of money for insurance you don't need?") but publishes no official minimum-coverage anchor rate. A defensible dollar figure requires a per-state online quote.4
- Minimum-coverage positioning marketed; no primary rate anchor: $0 per year
How to read these numbers. Different publishers model different profiles and may use different underlying data (Quadrant Information Services is the most common dataset). Your quote depends on your driving record, credit-based insurance score where allowed, vehicle, garaging ZIP, mileage, prior insurance history, age, household composition, telematics participation, and the coverages and deductibles you select.
Complaints and regulatory record
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners publishes a complaint index that normalizes complaint counts against a company's share of premium written. A value of 1.0 represents the baseline expected complaint volume for a company of that size; lower is generally better.
Non-standard specialty carriers typically run NAIC complaint indices above the 1.00 industry median. Third-party aggregations cite PGAC 2024 index of ~5.09 (3 complaints) and PGAC of Ohio ~1.55 (1 complaint) — low complaint counts drive statistical noise. Pull current per-entity, per-state values on NAIC CIS before signing. Secondary values should be treated as directional.9
To look up the current complaint index for the specific The General underwriting entity that writes policies in your state, use the NAIC Consumer Information Source or your state Department of Insurance. The entities most commonly rated for The General are:
- Permanent General Assurance Corporation (PGAC)
- Permanent General Assurance Corporation of Ohio
- General Automobile Insurance Company
Complaint index measures regulator-filed complaints, not overall service quality; treat it as one input among several. Index values vary by underwriting entity and by state and can shift year over year, so pull the current number for your state before signing.
Financial strength
AM Best affirmed The General at Financial Strength Rating A+ (Superior) and Long-Term Issuer Credit Rating aa- (Superior) on February 20, 2025 with a stable outlook2. AM Best UPGRADED The General from FSR A (Excellent) / Long-Term ICR a+ to FSR A+ (Superior) / Long-Term ICR aa- on February 20, 2025 with Stable outlook, covering Permanent General Assurance Corporation, Permanent General Assurance Corporation of Ohio, and General Automobile Insurance Company. Rationale: balance-sheet strength assessed "strongest" post-Sentry integration, inter-company quota-share agreement, and operational/financial support from Sentry.
What these ratings mean and do not mean. A high financial-strength rating indicates the insurer has the resources to pay claims under a wide range of adverse scenarios. It is not a guarantee of any specific claim outcome, service quality, or price competitiveness in your quote. Ratings can change; check the affirmation date.
Material news (last 24 months)
- AM Best upgraded The General to A+ (Superior) and aa- (Superior) (February 2025): Upgrade from FSR A / ICR a+ to FSR A+ / ICR aa- across PGAC, PGAC of Ohio, and General Automobile Insurance Company. Stable outlook. Rationale: balance-sheet strength assessed "strongest" post-Sentry integration, inter-company quota-share agreement, and operational/financial support from Sentry.2
- Sentry closed acquisition of The General from American Family (December 2024): Sale announced September 12, 2024; closed December 31, 2024. Approximate consideration: ~$1.0-1.1B cash, ~$1.7B total transaction value. The General moved from American Family Insurance Group (2012-2024) to Sentry Insurance Group alongside Dairyland.3
YesWeSure Fit Check
Is The General a fit worth quoting?
The General tends to fit if you
- You need SR-22 after a DUI, revocation, or reinstatement timeline and want direct-to-consumer purchase in 2 minutes — The General's online quote-and-bind flow is purpose-built for this.
- You prefer no-agent direct shopping — The General is DTC-only; Sentry's sibling Dairyland handles the agent-channel equivalent.
- You want Sentry parent counterparty strength (A+ Superior AM Best after the February 2025 upgrade) at the non-standard tier.
- You are a young driver (20 or younger), an older driver (70+), or have no prior coverage — The General markets explicitly to these segments.
Look carefully if you
- You live in Alaska, Hawaii, or Michigan — The General does not write personal auto in these states.
- You want a telematics discount — The General does not offer a UBI program.
- You prefer an independent-agent conversation — quote Dairyland (same Sentry owner, IA channel) instead.
- You expect a publicly-published rate anchor — The General does not publish modeled rate figures; run your own online quote.
This is decision-support reasoning, not personalized advice. Your real decision depends on your quote in your state, current regulator data, and how much of your total budget an incident could disrupt.
Ready to compare The General against alternatives?
Compare car insurance quotesCommon questions
Who owns The General?
Sentry Insurance Group, as of December 31, 2024. American Family Insurance Group owned The General from 2012 through 2024; the sale to Sentry was announced September 12, 2024 and closed December 31, 2024 for approximately $1.0-1.1B cash ($1.7B total value). Sentry's sibling non-standard brand is Dairyland.
Did The General get an AM Best upgrade?
Yes. On February 20, 2025, AM Best upgraded The General's Financial Strength Rating from A (Excellent) to A+ (Superior) and Long-Term Issuer Credit Rating from a+ to aa- across Permanent General Assurance Corporation, Permanent General Assurance Corporation of Ohio, and General Automobile Insurance Company. The upgrade was tied to Sentry integration, inter-company quota-share agreement, and balance-sheet strength assessed at "strongest."
Will The General quote me after a DUI?
Yes. The General's high-risk page describes DUI/DWI conviction as "a specialty of ours." Multiple-DUI thresholds, lapse-grace lengths, and credit-based rating usage are not publicly disclosed and vary by state. Confirm your specific profile in the online quote flow.
Does The General file SR-22?
Yes, in most states. Per thegeneral.com: "in most states The General can only file an SR-22 in the state where your auto insurance policy has been issued." Form is delivered with the policy documents after online purchase "in just minutes." Filing fee varies by state and is applied as a filing fee or premium surcharge.
Does The General have a telematics discount?
No. The General does not operate a telematics / usage-based insurance program. For a non-standard carrier under the same owner that offers no UBI, this is a shared feature with sibling Dairyland. If telematics-driven rate forgiveness matters to you, look at Kemper Co-Pilot (AZ/GA/FL/TX) or National General DynamicDrive.
Where does The General write personal auto?
47 states per thegeneral.com/about. Secondary sources name Alaska, Hawaii, and Michigan as non-writing states. DC inclusion in the 47-state figure is not primary-source clear and should be confirmed during the online quote flow.
The General vs Dairyland — which should I quote?
Both are Sentry non-standard carriers. The General is direct-to-consumer (online quote in 2 minutes, mobile app); Dairyland is independent-agent (your local agency carries the appointment). Both carry A+ (Superior) AM Best via the Sentry group. If you already have an agent, quote Dairyland. If you prefer no-agent direct shopping, quote The General. For time-pressured SR-22 or FR-44 reinstatement, running both quotes in parallel is reasonable.
Sources & methodology
- [TIER 1] AM Best upgrades The General to A+ (Superior) / aa- (February 20, 2025) (Insurance Journal (AM Best reporting))
- [TIER 1] Sentry Insurance: AM Best rates The General A+ post-acquisition (December 31, 2024 close) (Sentry Insurance)
- [TIER 1] The General: Homepage (2-minute online quote; app) (The General)
- [TIER 1] The General: SR-22 filing page (The General)
- [TIER 1] The General: High-risk auto insurance ("Yes when others say No") (The General)
- [TIER 3] WalletHub: The General discounts summary (WalletHub)
- [TIER 2] J.D. Power 2025 U.S. Auto Insurance Study (J.D. Power)
- [TIER 1] NAIC Consumer Information Source (PGAC, PGAC of Ohio, General Automobile Insurance Company) (National Association of Insurance Commissioners)
Evidence hierarchy on this page: Tier 1 (regulators, insurer documentation, rating agencies), Tier 2 (independent authoritative research including J.D. Power and industry datasets), Tier 3 (reputable publishers with transparent methodology). Every material claim traces to a source in this list, with the tier shown next to each source. Modeled rate figures are premiums produced from Quadrant Information Services or publisher proprietary data for defined driver profiles; they are not personalized quotes. Last reviewed .